This award recognizes individuals for success and excellence in volleyball coaching over a period of many years.


     Bill Kauffman


     Minimum of ten (10) years of coaching; Ability to develop consistently successful teams, as demonstrated by performances at the state, regional, national and/or international levels; Demonstrated ability to train athletes to their highest potential; Respond in a professional manner to the successes, pressures and disappointments of competition; Has shared his/her abilities and knowledge through participation in forums to educate peers.

Bertha H. Lucas Pioneer Division

Named in honor of Bertha H. Lucas, a player-participant in more than 50 consecutive USA Open Championship Events, coach of many years for USA Open women’s national-caliber club teams from both the Great Lakes and Southern California RVAs, and a 1995 recipient of this award.

Qualifying Criteria:

     Retired more than five (5) years from the level of coaching that brings him/her this recognition.

1995: Bertha H. Lucas, Edward B. DeGroot Jr.
1996: Harry E. Wilson
1997: Val Keller
1998: Harold Petersen
1999: Dr. James E. Coleman, Dr. Dixie Grimmitt
2000: Harlan Cohen, Bill Odeneal
2004: Terry Pettit
2006: Manny Saenz, Catalino R. “Iggy” Ignacio
2007: Dr. G. Thomas Tait
2008: Teri Clemens
2010: Mary Jo Peppler
2011: Ruth Nelson
2012: Bill Neville
2013: Chuck Erbe
2014: Don Shaw
2015: Carol Dewey
2016: No selection
2017: Debby Colberg
2018: Jeff Mozzochi
2019: Stephanie Schleuder
2020: Dr. Cecile Reynaud