Named in honor of E. Douglas Boyden, the fourth president of USA Volleyball, 1959-1969.


     To recognize the media organizations and/or individuals who have supported volleyball on a continuing basis and who have significantly contributed to the growth of the sport. This award is administered by USAV staff.


     Bill Kauffman


     Provided exceptional printed or electronic media coverage, broad in scope and for a minimum of two (2) years; Should the nomination be region-specific, it shall have the approval of the regional commissioner; Shall receive endorsement of the administering division; Former recipients are not eligible for consideration

1980: Blake Giles (Athens, Ga.) Banner Herald, Tim Weigel WLS TV (Chicago, Ill.)
1981: Radio Station WREB (Springfield, Mass.)
1983: Elaine Noll (San Antonio, Texas) Express News, Jim Leahy KGMB TV (Honolulu, Hawaii), Ann Miller (Honolulu Advertiser), Elizabeth H. Boyden (San Antonio, Texas), Fred Reedy, Hawaii Tribune Herald (Hilo, Hawaii), Bob Kesling, WBIR TV (Knoxville, Tenn.), Marci Brown, Minnesota Daily (Minneapolis, Minn.), WELM TV (East Lansing, Mich.)
1984: Paul Morgan, Kalamazoo Gazette (Michigan), Wayne DeNeff, Ann Arbor News (Michigan), Volleyball Monthly Magazine, WOI TV, Ames, Iowa
1985: Jeannie Roberts, Tallahassee Democrat (Florida), Ron Orozco, Fresno Bee (California)
1986: Kevin Buey, Albuquerque Journal (New Mexico), Bill Knight, El Paso Times (Texas), Ruben Villegas, El Paso Times (Texas)
1987: Dennis Bowling, South Town Economist (Chicago, Ill.), Linda Young (Chicago Tribune), Diane Williams (Freelance Journalist)
1988: Bill Feldman (Editor, AVCA American Volleyball Magazine)
1989: Iowa Public TV KDIN (Johnston, Iowa), Steve Sain, KAMR TV (Amarillo, Texas), Richard E. Smith (Editor, USAV Volleyball Guide, USAV Rules & Case Books)
1990: Charean Williams, Bryan College EAGLE Newspaper (Dayton, Tenn.), Fred Nuesch (Media Relations, Texas A&M-Kingsville)
1991: Radio Station WHMS (Champaign, Ill.)
1992: Rick Hazeltine (Volleyball Magazine and Western Intercollegiate VBA)
1993: Chris Marlowe (Prime Network/NBC TV), Paul Sunderland (Prime Network/NBC TV)
1994: Blake Sebring (Fort Wayne News Sentinal)
1996: Jeff Ruffulo (Ruffulo Communications, Calif.)
1998: Rob Schultz (Madison Capital Times)
2000: D.C. Koehl (Ohio State University Sports Information Department)
2001: Dennis Lafata (The Official Word), Michael Sondheimer (UCLA)
2002: Don Patterson (Volleyball)
2003: Pam Schmid (Minneapolis Star Tribune)
2004: Heather Cox (ESPN)
2005: Mike Miazga (Volleyball Magazine)
2006: College Sports Television (CSTV)
2007: Nebraska Educational Telecommunications (NETV)
2008: Tim Simmons (Former FIVB Beach press officer)
2009: Scott Reid (Orange County Register)
2010: Kevin Barnett (NBC, The Net Live)
2013: Anne Peterson (Associated Press)
2014: Vinnie Lopes (Off the Block)
2015: Cindy Luis (Honolulu Star-Advertiser)
2016: Brent Wagner (Lincoln Journal Star)
2017: Janie McCauley (Associated Press)
2018: Mechelle Voepel (ESPN/espnW)
2019: Jimmy Golen (Associated Press)