Named in honor of Jonathan Reeser, M.D., who served as the first chair of this committee. He was instrumental in gaining support for the work of the sport science industry in volleyball player development through the enhancement of their performance and the prevention and treatment of injuries.


     To recognize an individual who has made a significant contribution to the sports science of volleyball through either volleyball-specific research or through clinical contributions in the care of volleyball players. Research may be in the areas of injury epidemiology, prevention or treatment, or performance enhancement. These contributions may either be recent and of significant benefit to the sport, or longstanding over the course of time.


     William Briner, M.D.


     Publication in peer-reviewed scientific or medical journals of volleyball-specific research; Presentation at regional, national or international scientific meetings of volleyball-specific research; Publication or presentation of data that contribute to volleyball injury prevention; Publication or presentation of data that contribute to performance enhancement for volleyball players; At least three (3) years of providing medical/injury care to volleyball players at the club, intercollegiate or international levels; Significant contribution to the medical care of volleyball players; Significant contribution to training methodology to aid in volleyball skill acquisition or to enhance volleyball performance.

2011: James Coleman, Ph.D*
2013: Dr. E. Lee Rice
2014: Peter Vint, Ph.D.
2015: Aaron Brock, MS, ATC, PES
2016: Iradge Ahrabi-Fard, Ph.D.
2018: Jill Wosmek